Healthdirect Australia Help Center

    Waiting area dashboard

    Who can see this - all video call account holders with waiting area access

    Your Waiting Area dashboard is where you will see your patients waiting for, or participating in, a video consultation with your service. You will see information including their name and phone number.

    How to navigate your waiting area dashboard

    Your Waiting Area dashboard is where you will see your patients waiting for, or participating in, a video consultation with your service. 
    When you first arrive on your Waiting Area dashboard, you will see a refresher spinning icon, followed by either of the 2 screens below depending on the status of your Waiting Area
    While a patient is being seen you can see who the participants are and access the activity for a particular call. 
    Click on Participants to see the drop down options

    Click on Participants to 

    view information about the participant names including: 

    • camera
    • microphone
    • browser, and 
    • bandwidth information

    for all participants in the call

    Note, it may take up to 60 seconds to gather and therefore display accurate information about the bandwidth information.

    You can also disconnect participants from the call here if required.


    Click on Call Activity to see an activity log for that call. This includes any extra information you have asked the patient to provide as they are starting the call (eg medicare number or date of birth). These fields are configured in the Patient Entry Fields in the clinic configuration section of the platform.
    The section on the right called Clinic Settings is where you will find important clinic information.

    Waiting Area Alerts
    Expand and collapse this section by clicking on the arrow.
    This section allows you to customise how and when you are notified of new callers in the clinic via SMS, Email and Desktop alerts. To configure these click on the down arrow next to each option. Read more:
    Step-by-step instructions on how to set up and receive Waiting Area alerts

    Waiting Area Hours (expand and collapse this section by clicking on the arrow)
    You can view the clinic’s waiting area hours. You cannot edit the hours here - go to Configure your Clinic Waiting Area to do this
    Share the link to your Waiting Area - You can copy the unique URL (web address) for your clinic’s waiting area. This is a direct link you can give to any patients or callers so they can start a video call and arrive in your waiting area.
    You can also send an invitation to the waiting area via email or SMS as outlined below.
    Coming soon:
    Send an Email or SMS invitation to your waiting area. Click on Send an Email or SMS and a dialogue box will open. Select either Send Email or Send SMS at the top, type in the required details and click on either Send Email or Send SMS at bottom right (blue button) to send the invitation.
    Please note: the invitation message is default text and can be edited before you send the invitation.

    The email or SMS that the invited person receives contains a link to start a call in the required waiting area.
    Support - this shows all support contacts for the clinic and, if any have been added at the organisation level, the organisation. This is information only, if you want to edit the support contacts go to the Configure section of the clinic.

    Microphone and Camera - this section allows you to quickly configure the clinic default call setup (calls are joined with the camera on/off, with the mic on/off).




    Can’t find what you’re looking for?

    Email support

    or speak to the Video Call team on 1800 580 771

    Internal Content